Reverse Rett Hosts Dec. 5 Virtual Big Night In Fundraiser, Benefitting Research

Aisha I Abdullah PhD avatar

by Aisha I Abdullah PhD |

Share this article:

Share article via email
Reverse Rett, Big Night In fundraiser

Viewers from around the world are invited to join in the virtual Reverse Rett Big Night In, a U.K. fundraiser benefitting Rett syndrome research, to be held Saturday, Dec. 5 at 3 p.m. EST (8 p.m. GMT).

The live stream event will include a raffle and silent auction, as well as performances by comedians Romesh Ranganathan and Russell Howard, magician Magical Bones, and musicians David Ford and Thrill Collins.

Ticket packages start at £25 (about $33.50) and include options for international viewers to watch the event. U.K. locals will have the opportunity to have pizza and wine delivered to their residence for a full viewing experience. Tickets are available for purchase through Dec. 1 at 8 a.m. EST (1 p.m. GMT). To buy tickets, make a donation, or become a sponsor, go here.

“The Reverse Rett BIG NIGHT IN will bring all the glamour and excitement of a live event into the comfort of your own home!” the non-profit says on its website.

Guests of the event will have the chance to bid at a virtual silent auction featuring day trips and getaways across the U.K., original art pieces, golf games, a private whisky tasting, and memorabilia signed by the Liverpool and Chelsea football clubs.  Signed memorabilia from Olympian Mo Farah, cricketer Ben Stokes, Queen frontman Brian May, and James Bond star Daniel Craig also will be up for bid during the auction.


In addition, the auction will offer unique experiences, such as an evening with Michelin-star chef Raymond Blanc and afternoon tea with Dr. Who star Matt Smith.

Bidding for the online auction closes at 4 p.m. EST (9 p.m. GMT) on Dec. 6 and can be found here.  

Attendees also will have the opportunity to purchase raffle tickets for a chance to win prizes that include a bottle of 21-year-old Glengoyne whisky and a vintage 16k gold-plated necklace. Raffle entries should be mailed to D&G Group.

Reverse Rett was established in 2010 by parents of children with Rett syndrome to fund research for treatments and a cure. Since its launch, the organization has established a U.K. Rett Syndrome Patient Registry, facilitated three clinical trials — including the first trial of a potential Rett therapy in the U.K. — and opened the Centre for Personalised Medicine in Rett Syndrome at King’s College Hospital, the first of its kind in the world. 

To date, Reverse Rett has donated more than £6 million (more than $8 million) to fund Rett syndrome research through the U.S.-based Rett Syndrome Research Trust.

Reverse Rett Big Night In is being sponsored by Thomas McMaster & Son Ltd., hr inspire, and KDW Financial Planning. The website is keeping a running tally of funds raised.